Metal Review – Vader – Welcome to the Morbid Reich (2011)

Vader - Welcome to the Morbid ReichLong-standing, genre mainstays, Polish death metal legends Vader are back, and some would say stronger than ever. Vader has endured throughout the years in the highly competitive death metal genre of metal and has gained a great amount of exposure over the years. They are a treat to see live and I would love to catch a headlining set from this band, but have yet to do so.

You pretty much know what you are getting into with a Vader release. You are going to get your fill of some great riffs and solid songwriting. They have yet to let me down with any of their releases, and with Welcome to the Morbid Reich, I can simply say that they have blown me away. This is actually a heavier release than I was expecting – much heavier than Necropolis. Welcome to the Morbid Reich sounds like classic Vader with just a little more speed, while not sacrificing their technical ways by any stretch of the imagination.

I would not hesitate in putting this up their with Vader’s early stuff. I am sure that is not a popular opinion, but I am really liking what I am hearing on this one.

Welcome to the Morbid Reich Track Listing:
01. Ultima Thule
02. Return To The Morbid Reich
03. The Black Eye
04. Come And See My Sacrifice
05. Only Hell Knows
06. I Am Who Feasts Upon Your Soul
07. Don’t Rip The Beast’s Heart Out
08. I Had A Dream…
09. Lord Of Thorns
10. Decapitated Saints
11. They Are Coming…
12. Black Velvet And Skulls Of Steel
13. Raping The Earth [Digipak bonus]
14. Troops Of Tomorrow [Digipak bonus]