Metal Review – Alestorm – Back Through Time (2011)

Alestorm - Back Through TimeAlestorm are back and you know what that means, right? It means that we are handed the cheesiest, most cliche brand of viking metal once again. There is no denying that Alestorm are talented with their instruments, but everything about their music is totally cliche, and I am not one for cliche. While I know that there are some out there that will appreciate everything that is done on Back Through Time, this is definitely not for me. The lyrics are about as cheesy as it gets, but like I said, they can handle their instruments a little bit, so the album is not a complete throwaway… but pretty damn close.

Basically, we are given the same old stale formula and told to accept it. If that is your cup of tea, then viking metal could be much worse than what Alestorm is giving you, but I like my metal to have some progression from previous efforts, and you will not find that here.

Back Through Time Track Listing:
1. Back Through Time
2. Shipwrecked
3. The Sunk’n Norwegian
4. Midget Saw
5. Buckfast Powersmash
6. Scraping The Barrel
7. Rum
8. Swashbuckled
9. Rumpelkombo
10. Barrett’s Privateers
11. Death Throes Of The Terrorsquid