Metal Review – Goreaphobia – Apocalyptic Necromancy (2011)

Goreaphobia - Apocalyptic NecromancyNow this is a throwback for you. First off, I have some hometown metal in Philadelphia’s own Goreaphobia and then you have their latest release, Apocalyptic Necromancy, which oozes 90’s death metal. Even the album title is bleeding classic death metal. Formed way back in 1988, Goreaphobia can be said to one of the early death metal bands, and having operated primarily on the underground scene, they are also one of the lesser known death metal acts.

Circle back around to 2011 and what do we have? Well, not quite what I would expect. As much as I like the classic death metal sound, the main problem here is that there is nothing new here. It was as if Goreaphobia had these tracks laying around for 20 years and just released them now. I understand that they want to stay true to their classic metal sound, but with no progression, all of their songs sound the same. That is not to say that this is a bad release in any way. I am enjoying the hell out of it.

Some of the standouts on the album are Void of the Larva Queen, Shroud of Hyena and the title track Apocalyptic Necromancy, but overall, there is not a track that I do not like on here. If you want to take a trip down death metal history, you could do much worse than starting in the present with Goreaphobia.

Apocalyptic Necromancy Track Listing:
1. Apocalyptic Necromancy
2. Xurroth Rreeth N’Vez Helm (City of Rot and Decay)
3. The Attractor
4. Void Of The Larva Queen
5. Shroud of The Hyena
6. Footpaths In The Vortex of Doom
7. Darkstar Dementia
8. Igigi Reactor
9. Totem Of The Vulture
10. Sigil On Death’s Hand
11. White Wind Spectre
12. Rust Worms And The Noxious Fevers They Bring

GoreaphobiaLegendary Philadelphia death metal battalion, GOREAPHOBIA, are pleased to join forces with Dark Descent Records for the release of their long-anticipated new full-length, Apocalyptic Necromancy. Slated for release on August 9, 2011, the follow-up to 2009’s Mortal Repulsion, was recorded, mixed and mastered by drummer Jim Roe and features new guitarist VJS (Kult ov Azazel, Crimson Moon, Demoncy, etc.). 

Commented Dark Descent label head Matt Calvert of the signing: “When the opportunity presented itself to release the new GOREAPHOBIA album, the choice was easy. Those who are familiar with the underground know that GOREAPHOBIA has a longstanding reputation of producing some of the filthiest death metal around. I’m more than excited to be a part of this new chapter of the band. After speaking to each member personally, it became very apparent that GOREAPHOBIA and Dark Descent Records are a perfect fit and I look forward to helping spread their message to not only long-time fans, but new ones as well.”
Added guitarist Alex Bouks: “Myself and the rest of GOREAPHOBIA are very excited and pleased to be working with Matt and the rest of amazing team at Dark Descent. The label is off to great things. This is a very fresh and positive start for us to be releasing our new record with what  I believe to be the next great metal label around today.”
Apocalyptic Necromancy features 12 tracks of sonic decay with artwork by Linsey Wasiuta.
Chris Gamble – Vocals/Bass
Alex Bouks – Guitars
Jim Roe – Drums
VJS – Guitar