Metal Review – August Burns Red – Leveler (2011)

August Burns Red - LevelerAugust Burns Red is one of the more recognizable names in the metalcore genre and for good reason. While I am not a metalcore fan, there are a few bands in this genre that get me excited when they release something new. I had a moderate level of excitement to get my hands on the Leveler promo and I am glad to say that it did not let me down. It is a solid effort.

Leveler is everything you have come to expect from August Burns Red and maybe even a little more. From the opening of Empire, you are pounded into submission with some intense riffs and great drumwork. Jake Luhrs’ vocals still need some help, but are not really a huge letdown on this release. Most of the album is coming straight at you, but there are still some curveballs thrown your way as well.

As with their previous releases, August Burns Red always seem to deliver on their brand of forward-thinking metalcore and Leveler is no different. They take some chances and a lot of it works out very well while others not so much. But, at least they gave it the old college try.

Fans of metalcore will really enjoy this release and fans that are not really into metalcore still will get something out of it as well.

Leveler Track Listing:
1. Empire
2. Internal Cannon
3. Divisions
4. Cutting the Ties
5. Pangea
6. Carpe Diem
7. 40 Nights
8. Salt & Light
9. Poor Millionaire
10. 1/16/2011
11. Boys of Fall
12. Leveler

August Burns Red is:
Jake Luhrs – vocals
Brent Rambler – guitar
JB Brubaker – guitar
Dustin Davidson – bass
Matt Greiner – drums