Metal Review – Nader Sadek – In the Flesh (2011)

Nader Sadek - In the FleshIn the Flesh is the brainchild of Egyptian-born, New York-based conceptual artist Nader Sadek. Known for his impressively twisted sculptures, masks, and installations used for example by bands such as MAYHEM and SUNN O))), Sadek is now venturing into the realm of recorded music – including songwriting credits on this album! The band NADER SADEK emerges out of a collaboration between Sadek and some of extreme music’s most talented artists with its core made up out of songwriter/vocalist Steve Tucker (ex-MORBID ANGEL), CRYPTOPSY drummer Flo Mounier and Norwegian composer/guitarist Rune Eriksen (AVA INFERI, ex-MAYHEM). A host of guest-appearances lends additional weight to the musical impact of “In the Flesh” by leading artists such as Attila Csihar (MAYHEM), Travis Ryan (CATTLE DECAPITATION), Tony Norman (MONSTROSITY), Descructhor (MORBID ANGEL), and Nick McMaster (KRALLICE).

In the Flesh is definitely an extreme metal release that should be looked up. From the outset of the album, with the first song proper, Petrophilia, the band comes at you with full force and controlled chaos. The blastbeats are intense and the band is solid musically. The riffs are top notch and in your face through the length of the album. The technical aspects of In the Flesh are done very well.

While far from perfect, In the Flesh will treat most metal fans to some much needed headbanging. Some of the editing could have been toyed with just a bit. The vocals seem to be buried far too deep in the mix. But, once again, a lot of what In the Flesh is doing is better than some of the more recent releases from the bands guesting on this album are doing with their respective bands, so I give major props to them for this.

In the Flesh Track Listing:
1. Awakening
2. Petrophilia
3. Of This Flesh (Novus Deus)
4. Exhaust Capacitor
5. Soulless
6. Rusted Skin
7. Mechanic Idolatry
8. Sulffer
9. Nigredo In Necromance

Nader Sadek: conceptual artist
Steve Tucker: vocals
Rune Eriksen: guitars
Flo Mounier: drums