Metal Review – Morbid Angel – Illud Divinum Insanus (2011)

Morbid Angel - Illud Divinum InsanusIt has been 8 long years since the last Morbid Angel release, which was the much-hated Heretic. Their legions of fans stayed in waiting hoping for a triumphant return from the death metal pioneers, who now want to be called extreme metal. So be it. Who are we to argue with the death metal kings? You would think that the 8 year wait would have left a bunch of disgruntled fans, but fans are eagerly waiting Illud Divinum Insanus’ release. I was fortunate to receive my promo copy today.

I will say that, in the beginning, I was not into Illud Divinum Insanus at all. I was not liking the direction that they were taking and had serious doubts in my mind as to what the hell Morbid Angel was even thinking. It actually took me quite a few listens to get into it, but I am so into this one right now.

I am not too keen on songs like Too Extreme! at all. It was okay, but did not have a cohesive flow to it at all. After that point, we are treated to what we would expect from Morbid Angel with Existo Vulgoré. The chants in the chorus may be simplistic, but if you do not feel yourself shouting Vulgoré in rage, then there just might be something wrong with you.

The album seems to keep progressing nicely after that point until I am Morbid, which has the potential to be the song of the year if not the decade. It has such an amazing groove. The track starts of simple with some chants, which seem to be getting this track ready to be a live staple of every Morbid Angel show. Once we get past the simple guitar intro, we are lead into an amazing riff with Vincent’s grunts. The song keeps getting better and better until the chorus, which makes me want to break through walls. The solo work to this track and pretty sweet as well. Everything about this song works.

Where I was hoping that the album would start to take shape was with the next track, I am Morbid. This is a little catchy track with some great riffs and an excellent solo. I can see this track lighting the place up live. The problem is that too many listens to this song will get pretty annoying. It is quite repetitive.

Basically, in summing things up, this album was a huge letdown for me at first, but I now stand proud to say that I am in love with this album. I realize that I am in the minority on this one, but so be it.

1. Omni Potens
2. Too Extreme!
3. Existo Vulgoré
4. Blades for Baal
5. I Am Morbid
6. 10 More Dead
7. Destructos VS the Earth / Attack
8. Nevermore
9. Beauty Meets Beast
10. Radikult
11. Profundis – Mea Culpa

Trey Azagthoth: guitars
Destructhor: guitars
Tim Yeung: drums
Mr. Vincent: vocals, bass guitar, keyboards