Metal Review – ISOLATION – Closing the Circle (2011)

ISOLATION - Closing the CircleFive years after ISOLATION released their first demo, Striding on the Path of Nihil, Eisenwald Tonschmiede finally presents their debut album titled Closing the Circle. ISOLATION is an atmospheric rock/metal band with the majority of their vocals sung cleanly with occasional harsh vocals. Vocally, and musically, Closing the Circle is a solid release by ISOLATION and something that fans of ambient metal should check out.

While not a perfect release, it does comes off very well, especially musically. Vocally, I am more of a fan of the clean vocals than the raspy, harsh vocals. The clean vocals give off a droning metal effect which works well with the droning riffwork of many of the songs. There is something compelling about many of the songs on this release.

2011 has been a good year for ambient metal fans in general with some solid releases that I have already talked about, so let’s keep it up and keep them coming. While Closing the Circle will not be one of my favorite ambient metal releases, it is definitely listenable and does a good job for what it is.

Closing the Circle Track Listing:
1. Something and Nothing
2. Closing a Circle
3. Never Enough
4. This Moment
5. Nomad
6. One Day
7. Fan the Flames
8. There Will be No Answer
9. The Wasteland
10. May You Fare Well