Metal Review – Samael – Lux Mundi (2011)

Samael - Lux Mundi (2011)Samael’s latest release, Lux Mundi, was 3 years in the making. For some reason, I still have a tough time of forgetting the Samael which pushed the boundaries of black metal throughout the 90s. Those days are long gone, but still reside in my memories. These days, the Swiss metal act still keeps the themes of occult and anti-Christian sentiments, but mixed in electronic sounds and grooves throughout their music.

Lux Mundi sounds like more of a return to 90s Samael with a nice subtle mixture of the electronic sounds from more recent releases. Samael really struck a nice balance with Lux Mundi and it comes out as one of their best album in quite some time. The production and mixing for Lux Mundi is very crisp and clean and is something that they really needed for this release.

As a whole, I think that a lot of people will be very pleased with Samael’s Lux Mundi. I know that I was pleasantly surprised by this release and I am expecting a lot of nice listens out of this release.

A dark legend returns. After three years to complete, SAMAEAL now unleash “Lux Mundi”, which translates from Latin to “Light of the World”. This massive new album was produced by Waldemar Sorychta (LACUNA COIL, SODOM, TIAMAT)! The Swiss band is regarded as a leader in the second wave of Black Metal of the early 90s and their album “Ceremony of Opposites” a cornerstone of this genre.

Lux Mundi Track Listing:
01. Luxferre
02. Let My People Be!
03. Of War
04. Antigod
05. For A Thousand Years
06. The Shadow Of The Sword
07. In The Deep
08. Mother Night
09. Pagan Trance
10. In Gold We Trust
11. Soul Invictus
12. The Truth Is Marching On