Metal Review – Izegrim – Code of Consequence (2011)

Izegrim - Code of Consequence (2011)Izegrim is a band that I am sure is going to get pigeonholed as an Arch Enemy clone, and that is just not fair. While they have a blond, female lead singer and play a still of melodic death metal with vocals similar to Angela from Arch Enemy, the comparisons should stop there.

Code of Consequence is the 2011 release from Dutch metal band Izegrim and it is a solid release capable of holding its own against any metal band. The album is riff heaven for those of us that enjoy tight musicianship. The songs are melodic, but heavy as hell with sharp, gutteral vocals and the songs are loaded with hooks. Did I mention that there are a ton of great riffs on this album? Well, it deserves a second mention.

Songs like Psychopathic Mind come straight for your jugular and just bombard you with riff after riff and vocal melodies layered on top of solid metal riffs. There is even a sweet solo in the song, of which I wish there were more throughout the album. Another song that I can really get behind is Population Zero (great title by the way). This one picks up the speed and changes tempos as fast as possible. The melodic riffs layered into this song are quite nice and there are some major riffs on this track as well.

While I do hear a lot of Arch Enemy on this release, that is not me pigeonholing ever female-fronted band with gutteral vocals. I also hear a lot of Kreator in Izegrim as well, and I doubt that you would ever confuse Milli with Izegrim’s lead singer.

1) Victim of Honor
2) My Secret Society
3) Incommunicado
4) Center of Momentum
5) Deathstrip
6) Final Farewell
7) Fade Into Obscurity
8) Psychopathic Mind
9) Population Zero
10) Code of Consequences

Izegrim recorded and released its first propaganda on tape, called ‘Most Evil Demo’ in spring 1998. The demo (featuring symphonic deathmetal) was generally received very positively by the media. Izegrim released the self-financed mini-CD ‘Bird of Prey’ in the summer of 1999. From the start, Izegrim was received very well by both the media and audience at live-gigs.

Since the beginning of Izegrim´s existence the band has steadily become an established name in the Dutch metalscene. Our past performances gained us a substantial and steady fanbase through the years. In november 2002 Izegrim released a new act of nihilism, called ‘Guidelines for Genocide’: a death-thrashing omen of doom that is certain to make you crave for an untimely death! Combining old-school thrash elements, catchy riffing and unconventional themes, Izegrim successfully probed new means to thrash.

It is 2005. This summer a new omen of doom has been released upon this mediocre world: ‘New World Order’. We all have been screwed for way too long. ‘New World Order’ was released as a pre-taster for Izegrim’s upcoming full length.

Early 2008 the second full-length ‘Tribute to Totalitarianism’ has been unleashed upon this world through Rusty Cage Records. T.t.T. contains 10 songs with influences of all styles, yet with a substantial Izegrim-flavour added to it. After a successful European tour with FLOTSAM & JETSAM and a Dutch mini-tour, founding member Joep and vocalist Kristien decided to focus on something else after 12 years of service and they left in the summer of 2008. Within the shortest period of time Ivo was recruited to replace Joep, and Marloes took over the vocals.

March 2009: ‘Point of no Return’ is Izegrim’s wake-up call to the world, introducing the new line-up with 3 brand new songs and a re-recorded version of Angel of Demise (taken from our sold out album ‘Guidelines for Genocide’).

Immediately after the release of “Point of no Return” Izegrim started writing/composing their new album. Their mission was to create the most versitale, riff-packed, in-your-face-sounding record in the history of Izegrim. After more than one year of working as hard as they ever did, they’ve accomplished their objectives. Recorded, mixed and mastered by Jörg Uken (Soundlodge Studio), this record has become exactly the way they wanted it to be.

On top of that, Izegrim signed a pact with LISTENABLE RECORDS from France. The release date for “Code of Consequences” has been set for February 2011.

Izegrim is on the move, and the journey has just begun…


Izegrim Band