Metal Review – Zombiefication – Midnight Stench (2011)

Metal Review - Zombiefication - Midnight Stench (2011)Zombiefication is a Mexican Death Metal band that is really bringing it with their debut full-length release Midnight Stench. The album opens up innocently enough with the introduction The Shining. Once the first proper track, Cryptic Broadcast, comes in, you are in a Death Metal frenzy. It is just a wealth of Death Metal riffs with some very crunchy distortion. The vocals are solid enough to make sure that this is not a Death Metal band to be taken lightly. Cryptic Broadcast also brings up some technical spots and nice tempo changes that come in and out cleanly.

Anthem To The Deathmarch picks the speed up and brings us more technical intricity scattered throughout the song. Sleepless Mutter is another song that I am really digging. It almost slips into a Black Metal song with the mood being set by the ringing of a bell tower. Overall, there are a lot of treats on this album that you will not want to miss.

Overall, we are not looking at anything new in the Death Metal genre, but we are looking at a no frills funfest of a Death Metal album that you should be checking out. Keep in mind that this is only Zombiefication’s debut album and (I hope) we will be treated to many more albums by this band. I am intrigued already.

In 2010 Mexico’s legendary ZOMBIEFICATION crawled out the grave with disgust and finally released their long awaited debut album Midnight Stench on CD through Asphyxiate Recordings. Playing a rotten style of death metal that crosses the early Stockholm sound with Mexico’s own proud tradition of ancient cult death metal, you can now experience Midnight Stench on vinyl, the way it was always meant to be experienced. Chaos Records recently made available two vinyl editions of this already classic album. Inclusive of an exclusive bonus track, “Blood & Disgorge,” the LP is available in limited edition (200 copies) 350 gram vinyl with gatefold jacket and 180 gram silver vinyl. The regular LP edition is available in 350 gram black vinyl with gatefold jacket.

Zombiefication – Midnight Stench LP Track List
Side A:
1.  The Shining
2. Cryptic Broadcast
3. Anthem to the Deathmarch
4. Last Resting Place
5. Jacko’s Funeral Pyre
6. Sleepless Mutter

Side B:
1. Broken Gravestone
2. Necrolumbatory
3. Hitchcock Screaming in Phobia
4. The Early Years
5. Blood & Disgorge (exclusive bonus track)