Metal Review – Lake of Tears – Illwill (2011)

Lake of Tears - Illwill (2011)Lake of Tears is a band that I have liked for a long time and I am so glad that they are back stronger than ever. While Illwill is not their strongest effort to date, it is one of their best and quite possibly one of their most self-reflective releases ever.

Take a listen to the title track, Illwill, and you will pretty much hear what Lake of Tears has been doing for a long time. That song is basically a synopsis of the band. It captures the essences of Lake of Tears in under 5 minutes perfectly. Another track that captures Lake of Tears quite well is their first single that was previously released, U.N.S.A.N.E.

From the outset of the album, you can tell that there is something a little different about this release. There is more speed and less doom, but is still Lake of Tears, just a more progressive version of the band. Outside of Illwill (the track), I am really liking The Hating, which is a melodic piece, but faster than much of what Lake of Tears has done throughout most of their career.

The other thing of note with Illwill is that this release is more riff oriented than previous releases. Sure the lyrics are still depressive and dark, but the song structures and riffs are not the typical Lake of Tears that you may be accustomed to. I, for one, and happy to get a release that stays true to what Lake of Tears has always been, but at the same time, progresses a little.

Lake of Tears – Illwill Track Listing:
01. Floating In Darkness
02. Illwill
03. The Hating
04. U.N.S.A.N.E.
05. House Of The Setting Sun
06. Behind The Green Door
07. Parasites
08. Out Of Control
09. Taste Of Hell
10. Midnight Madness
11. As Daylight Yields [live] [Limited Digipak bonus]
12. Demon You / Lily Anne [live] [Limited Digipak bonus]
13. Crazyman [live] [Limited Digipak bonus]

Line-up on the album:
Daniel Brennare – Vocals, Guitar
Johan Oudhuis – Drums
Fredrik Jordanius – Guitar, Bass, Vocals

Additional musicians:
Freddy Zielinski – Bass
Mathias Lodmalm – Vocals
Johan Örnborg – Guitar