Metal Review DevilDriver – Beast (2011)

DevilDriver - Beast (2011) ReviewDevilDriver is back, and while they are not one of my favorite bands, I was into Pray for Villians, so I was eager to get this release in my hands. I will have to say that they did not disappoint with their fifth full-length release, Beast. In reality, DevilDriver is not reinventing the wheel as their sound has not changed much from previous releases, but it is not necessary to be groundbreaking to be enjoyable. You still have their Melodic Death Metal / Metalcore sound that you have come to know. Also, keep in mind that this is coming from someone who is not into too many Metalcore bands at all.

As far as individual tracks go, “Dead to Rights” is an awesome song. The riffwork is intense and heavy. It was the first single for the album released on January 10, 2011. Songs like “Shitlist” and “Hardened” are just straight chargers that just keep coming. One song that a few friends have really taken to already is “Talons Out (Teeth Sharpened)”. That is another good song.

Beast Track Listing:
01. Dead To Rights
02. Bring The Fight (To The Floor)
03. Hardened
04. Shitlist
05. Talons Out (Teeth Sharpened)
06. You Make Me Sick
07. Coldblooded
08. Blur
09. The Blame Game
10. Black Soul Choir
11. Crowns Of Creation
12. Lend Myself To The Night

DevilDriver Personnel:
* Dez Fafara – vocals
* Mike Spreitzer – guitars, bass
* Jeff Kendrick – guitars, bass
* Jon Miller – bass, guitars
* John Boecklin – drums, guitars, bass
* Andy Sneap – mixing
* Mark Lewis – producer