Metal Review – Astrosoniq – Quadrant (2009)

Astrosoniq (sometimes spelled A5tro5oniq) is a band from Oss, the Netherlands. They are also known as the “wizards of Oss.” Quadrant was actually released on 10.10.09, but I was just sent the album from their PR firm. Quadrant is Astrosoniq’s fifth full-length release.


Marcel van de Vondervoort – drums, production, mixing

Ron van Herpen – solo guitar and vocals

Robert-Jan Gruijthuijzen – bass guitar and vocals

Fred van Bergen – vocals

Teun van der Velden – keyboards and rhythm guitar

Willum does the artwork for the band. Bidi is their manager.

I have to tell you that I am really enjoying this album. The band cites classic heavy rock artists as their influences, which can be seen in the heavy guitar riffs and drums. You can see influences from bands like Hawkwind, Black Sabbath, Pink Floyd and Led Zeppelin in their sound.

Astrosoniq is in the subgenres of Space Rock, Psychedelic Rock and Stoner Rock, but has a lot of Metal tendencies too. Most songs on the album are sonic space journeys filled with solid leads and rhythms with very solid vocals on top. The opening track, Faustian Bargain, has a nice Space Rock intro, and by the time the song kicks it into overdrive, you are all in and rocking to it. The song As Soon As They Got Airborne is a 14 1/2 minute sonic journey that does indeed take you on a trip. The album flows nicely and is one of those albums that really should be listened to in its entirety.

I am big on solid vocals, and with Fred van Bergen, you get very solid vocals. Of course, the entire band plays their instruments solidly though. There is nothing groundbreaking about the music, but it is definitely an interesting listen and something that I can see myself enjoying every once in a while.

One of the most remarkable experiments on the album was with the song “Zero”. Zero is recorded by two bands. On your right channel you hear Astrosoniq, but on your left channel your hear Dutch stoner-grungers Zeus playing the same song, but in another time signature. You would expect that the song would be a sonic mess, but it really is not. I cannot think of another example of a band doing such an experiment so this was something new to me.

Overall, this is a solid album that is worth a listen, so pick it up and let me know what you think of it.

Astrosoniq – Quadrant Tracklist:

01. Faustian Bargain

02. Cloud of Decay

03. As Soon as They Got Airborne

04. Play it Straight

05. Lured

06. Bloom

07. Zero

08. Downfall Lover

09. Bored

10. Sin

Astrosoniq - Quadrant (2009) Review