Metal Review – Belphegor – Blood Magick Necromance (2011)

Belphegor - Blood Magick NecromanceBelphegor is an Austrian blackened death metal band from Salzburg, originally formed in 1991 under the name Betrayer before changing their name in 1993. They are named after the demon Belphegor.

Belphegor’s Current Lineup:
* Helmuth – vocals (since 1993), guitar (since 1991)
* Morluch – guitar (since 2008)
* Serpenth – bass, live backing vocals (since 2006)

Belphegor’s “Blood Magick Necromance” will be released on January 14, 2011 in Europe and on February 8, 2011 in the U.S. via Nuclear Blast Records.

This is the Belphegor’s ninth album, and one that they said was the most epic and monumental work to date. It’s one thing when a band says the new album is “epic” or “heavier”, but to accomplish this is another thing. Pretty bold claim from one of the Black Metal / Death Metal great from recent years.

Let’s me get this off my chest right now – this album, to say the least, is awesome. It has the potential to be an early contender for a top album of 2011 already. This is one of those bands that I think keeps getting better with each release.

The opening track, In Blood – Devour This Sanctity, is a great opening track. The song shifts rhythmic and melodic gears so seamlessly. You still have the normal speed picking and blastbeats that have characterized a big chunk of Belphegor’s sound over the years, but the songs seem much more melodic than previous efforts.

I have no complaints about any of the songs, but there are still some standouts from the pack. Obviously the aforementioned opening track is awesome. Rise To Fall And Fall To Rise is quite catchy. Probably not the best term to use, but it does stick with you. The title track is another standout. This is an amazing, layered, complex song. It is so powerful.

All in all, this is a must-add to your collection for anyone into Black Metal or Death Metal as it has a lot for fans of both subgenres of Metal.

The CD was produced by Peter Tägtgren (IMMORTAL, CELTIC FROST, HYPOCRISY, DIMMU BORGIR) at his Abyss Studios in Pärlby, Sweden and mastered by Jonas Kjellgren.

“Blood Magick Necromance” will be made available in four formats: a limited edition in black slipcase with metallic effect; a strictly limited Nuclear Blast mailorder edition box set, including a bondage necklace and chain (only 500 hand-numbered copies available); a limited picture gatefold LP on blood-red vinyl; LP on black vinyl; and a standard jewel case CD.

“Blood Magick Necromance” track listing:

01. In Blood – Devour This Sanctity
02. Rise To Fall And Fall To Rise
03. Blood Magick Necromance
04. Discipline Through Punishment
05. Angeli Mortis De Profundis
06. Impaled Upon The Tongue Of Sathan
07. Possessed Burning Eyes
08. Sado Messiah